Skip to main content

Last night, June 9th, Oprah Winfrey interviewed The Exonerated FiveAntron McCray, Korey Wise, Kevin Richardson, Raymond Santana, and Yusef Salaam — during the NetflixFYSEE event for a special titled Oprah Winfrey Presents When They See Us Now.

Prior to speaking with The Exonerated Five (who are formerly known as the Central Park Five), Oprah interviewed the cast and executive producers of When They See Us, the limited Netflix series chronicling the ordeal of the then-teenagers from questioning about the rape in New York’s Central Park to conviction to exoneration.

Image placeholder title

Ava DuVernay was the creative and driving force behind When They See Us, and she co-wrote and directed the four episodes. DuVernay and Oprah, along with Jeff Skoll, Jonathan King, Jane Rosenthal, Berry Welsh, and Robert De Niro executive produced the limited series. In addition to DuVernay, Attica Locke, Robin Swicord, Michael Starrbury and Julian Breece also served as writers.

When They See Us stars Emmy Award-nominee Michael K. Williams, Academy Award-nominee Vera Farmiga, Emmy Award-winner John Leguizamo, Academy Award-nominee and Emmy Award-winner Felicity Huffman, Emmy Award-nominee Niecy Nash, Emmy Award-winner and two-time Golden Globe-nominee Blair Underwood, Emmy Award- and Grammy Award-winner and Tony Award-nominee Christopher Jackson, Joshua Jackson, Omar J. Dorsey, Adepero Oduye, Famke Janssen, Aurora Perrineau, William Sadler, Jharrel Jerome, Jovan Adepo, Aunjanue Ellis, Kylie Bunbury, Marsha Stephanie Blake, Storm Reid, Chris Chalk, Freddy Miyares, Justin Cunningham, Ethan Herisse, Caleel Harris, Marquis Rodriguez, and Asante Blackk.

The full special Oprah Winfrey Presents When They See Us Now premieres June 12th at 10 p.m. on OWN and Netflix.